California

california

Published Date: July 8, 2014
Publisher:Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 393
Author: Edan Lepucki
Genres: Science Fiction, Dystopia

You can reaad the summary for California, here.

When you hear “postapocalytic” you most likely think: ZOMBIE! But not Edan Lepucki. Her postapocalyptic world was a direct result of humans running the Earth into the ground. Her world was our fault. No crazy disease or Day After Tomorrow event, oh no… this one’s on us.

What did I enjoy about this novel? Well for starters, Lepucki’s writing. For the first time ever I enjoyed reading a book with light dialogue. I’m usually not a fan but Lepucki was able to keep the conversation flowing without actual conversations. That’s skill. I also loved the world she set for us. It was so real, so scary.

What did I not enjoy about this novel? Sadly, the anticlimactic ending. I felt like Ralphie in A Christmas Story when he realizes his decoder ring is a commercial ploy. I finished the book and mouthed “son of a bitch.” There the ending was, wrapped in christmas paper and pretty bow. Perhaps I’m the only one who felt this way. I’m one for loose ends and what ifs. It just wasn’t supposed to end this way… #firstworldproblems.

Ultimately, this book is worth the read. Be the judge yourself. Who knows? You might love it.