Please Ignore Vera Dietz

dietz

Published Date: April 10, 2012
Publisher: Ember
Author: A.S. King
Pages: 326
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult

You can read the summary for Please Ignore Vera Dietz here.

I received this book, last year, in Book Riot’s Quarterly box. After months and months of passing over it, I finally bit the bullet and dove right in. I read this book in about a day and was pleasantly surprised. A.S. King didn’t follow typical YA protocol. No crazy love triangles or cheesy lines or predictability. There were uncomfortable situations, broken homes, heavy drinking and tough love.

Aside from the believable content, I loved how King wrote this book. There were chapters from Vera’s point of view {past and present}, from her dead bff’s point of view, from her dad’s point of view, and even an inanimate object’s point of view. It was really entertaining, fast-moving and emotional. This wasn’t an uplifting book, guys. It made me feel pretty sad, actually. Not like I’m-gonna-cry-all-over-the-place sad but I-feel-bad-for-Vera-and-wish-her-life-was-better sad.

Anyway, this one is worth a read. Just remember that it isn’t a fluffy, soft blanket book. It’s a stale beer and late night book.