The Dog Stars {Book Review}

dog

Published Date: August 1, 2012
Publisher: Vintage
Author: Peter Heller
Pages: 320
Genres: Science Fiction, Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopia

You can view the summary of The Dog Stars here.

These days when you hear post-apocalyptic, you most likely think ZOMBIES! Amirite? Well, this book isn’t that kind of post-apocalypse. The Dog Stars is one of the most chilling, realistic and sad books I’ve read. In short, I loved it.

I’ll talk about the 3Ps and then call it a day.

A) The Plot. This plot is frightening and so realistic that I thought about it long after I was done reading. Who doesn’t love a book that makes you think?! I loved the action, the revelations, the growth, the love and the loss. It was moving and trust me, when I started this book I didn’t think I would be as moved as I was. I cried. I laughed out loud. I shook my head. I felt all the feels. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!

2) The Peeps. Being post-apocalyptic you can assume that there aren’t a whole boat load of characters. It’s more like a handful and it works. Our MC, Hig, is so great. At first, I didn’t like him but I think it was more a dislike for the writing style that I was projecting on him. He’s brutish yet a bel-esprit. He’s funny yet serious. He’s a lost soul and you can’t help but become attached. Bangley is his hangar-mate and he’s a man of little words. He’s kinda crazy but you trust him with all your heart. He’s good people. The rest of the cast is superbly written and don’t disappoint.

c) The Prose. Y’all, *long sigh*, I don’t want this to scare you away but the writing is …different. It takes some getting used to. I discussed this with my best and we agreed: USE LONGER SENTENCES DANGIT! But it was lyrical. Once you get used to the cadence, it’s beautiful. I mentally starred like every other line as a great quote. It truly is a beautifully written book…albeit annoying at times.

All in all, once you get used to the writing style {which you will if you just be patient}, you are richly rewarded with this story about live after…

If you’re in the mood for a book about real love and loss, about survival and hope, then this is for you!

Available for purchase here: The Dog Stars (Vintage Contemporaries)